In this article I’m going to explain how to grow your business even if you are a complete beginner to online marketing.
There are scientific methods that you can use to grow your business – just like there are proven methods to making sales.
All you have to do is follow the steps, plug in your specific business, and you’ll be well on your way to growing your business.
In a nutshell, the making money online process looks like this:
- Start a business
- Set up a landing page
- Drive traffic
- Capture emails
- Create a funnel
- Follow up with customers
- Send an email every day for the rest of their lives
That’s the overall process of how to make money online.
Yes, it seems like a lot of steps. And each step can be broken down into little micro steps, which further complicates things.
But by the end of this article you’ll have a clear plan for what you need to do every step of the way.
What kind of business should you start?
If you’re reading this, then you’re probably already a business owner of some sort.
Before you read any further, let me make one thing clear: this strategy WILL WORK for your business.
Sure, if you have some obscure niche like running shoes for cross-country truckers or underwater basket-weaving bracelets, you’ll probably get less traffic than more popular niches.
But as long as there are people out there who are interested in what you’re selling, this method will work for you.
That said, to my last point about picking a business that has a decent-sized market, you’re going to want to start something that people are actually interested in.
In my experience, any business that helps people make more money is a good business. It’s a niche that we would consider “evergreen.”
Let’s face it: people ALWAYS want to make more money.
It’s very rare that you’ll find someone who says something like, “Money? Nah, I don’t really care about making more of it. I’m cool just the way I am.”
While I’m sure we all grew up caring less about money than we did once we reached adulthood, it would be silly to deny that money isn’t important.
Money IS important.
(Even if you’re a yoga instructor.)
Starting a business: don’t believe the lies, you need a website
I hear “experts” say all the time how you don’t need a website and how you can start a business without one.
Harsh truth incoming.
If you want to create a system for online marketing that is streamlined and automated, you’re going to need a website.
I’m not saying you need to create an authority blog in your niche (though that wouldn’t hurt).
At the bare minimum, you need a landing page.
A landing page (sometimes called a squeeze page or a lead capture page) is designed to get the user to do one thing: enter their contact information.
While I wouldn’t go as far as to say that landing pages are “better” than standard information-based websites, they do hold a few major advantages.
For one thing, landing pages are the most efficient way to turn targeted traffic into leads.
Think about it: normal websites have lots of links, articles, different things to click, and TONS of other distractions for people you send there.
This wouldn’t be such a bad thing if we had unlimited amounts of free traffic.
But as you’ll see in the next step, targeted traffic is a highly priced commodity.
And I don’t know about you, but I’m not a fan of flushing money down the toilet.
When you drive targeted traffic, you want the user to take ONE SPECIFIC ACTION when they get to your landing page – either turning into a lead, setting an appointment, or making a purchase.
If we take a moment to think about it, we don’t necessarily need to sell the prospect on the landing page. We just want them to leave their contact info.
There’s a whole science to landing pages in and of itself, but here are some general guidelines:
- Have a lead capture form so the user can enter their details
- Put a big headline that clearly states the purpose of the page (“Enter your details and one of our experts will call you within 30 minutes!”)
- Don’t put ANY other links on the page
- Smaller landing pages work better – don’t give the user the option to scroll down
- Add a phone number at the top, but make sure you use a call tracking service to gather data
- Experiment with different colors/wording of the page to see what converts better
How to make a landing page (the easy way)
I personally use ClickFunnels for all my landing pages. While this blog was created on WordPress, I would never create a blog with ClickFunnels.
Similarly, I find it clunky to create a landing page with WordPress.
If you’ve never built a website before, ClickFunnels also has the benefit of being very easy to learn.
WordPress is also easy, but it will require a lot more Googling than CF.
Another benefit of using ClickFunnels is that they have a ton of online resources and a MASSIVE community of people that help each other out.
Famous marketers like Tai Lopez, Grant Cardone (author of one of my favorite books), and even Tony Robbins all use ClickFunnels to create their landing pages and sales funnels.
And that’s really WHY we need to create a landing page – because it’s the first step in creating a sales funnel.
We’ll answer the question of “what is a sales funnel?” in a later section, but for now just think of it as a series of web pages where every single page is designed to “funnel” the user towards a specific action we want them to take.
In the case of the landing page, we want the user to turn into a lead.
- We don’t want them to subscribe to our YouTube channel.
- We don’t want them to read our most popular blog article.
- We don’t want them to follow us on Instagram.
At least, not yet.
Maybe eventually we do, but for now all we want is to turn them into a lead.
The REASON for this is that once we have their contact information, we can market to them every single day across various platforms for the rest of their lives.
But we’ll talk more about that later.
How to drive traffic to your landing page with paid ads
Driving traffic is the meat and potatoes of online marketing.
You can have the most amazing landing page and the best offer in the world, but if you don’t drive any traffic and nobody sees it, then how do you expect to make any money?
Traffic can be broken up into two categories: paid and organic. Each has different advantages and disadvantages.
(If you’re looking for an amazing resource for driving traffic, I highly recommend THIS book.)
The advantages of paid traffic:
- You can get targeted traffic instantly to your landing page
- On some platforms, you can filter by demographics and search terms to get exactly the type of person you want
- You can scale it up as high as you want if you have the budget
The disadvantages of paid traffic:
- You have to pay for it
- Sometimes you have to bid against your competitors
- There is a learning curve – and it can be expensive!
- You need to create ads on your own
- You need to learn how to tweak the advertising campaigns on your own
- You need to tweak your landing pages to increase conversion rates
- Your business might not be a good fit for paid traffic
Let’s talk about the last point a little bit – what does it mean if your business “isn’t a good fit”?
Because you have to pay for paid traffic, your CPA (cost per acquisition, i.e. cost per new paying customer) needs to be less than the amount of money you would make from that new customer.
- If you’re a lawyer and charge $5000 per client and your CPA is $1200, then paid ads make sense for you.
- If you’re selling cheap trinkets from India and your CPA is $5 but your average profit on a new customer is $4, then paid ads MIGHT NOT make sense for you.
Taking things one step further, we also want to consider our customer’s LTV (lifetime value).
How much do your customers spend, on average, over a span of several years?
How much are those leads REALLY worth to you?
If you’re just making one sale and moving on to the next lead, then I have bad news for you: you’re leaving money on the table.
How do you know if you SHOULD drive traffic with paid ads?
Driving traffic with paid ads can be a great way to generate new business for your company.
That said, you need to have an ad budget in place in order to start. Also, it’s important to state here that your CPA is going to be higher in the early months than it will in later months.
I’ve often told people that the goal of running paid ads is to experiment in order to find formulas that work for your business.
Better yet, once you identify methods that don’t work for paid traffic, you can repurpose those funds into campaigns that are profitable.
So if you have an ad budget and a relatively high ticket item, I HIGHLY recommend you start experimenting with paid ads.
Paid traffic – Google Adwords vs Facebook Ads
With all the resourceful individuals out there trying to make a buck online, there are some interesting ways of driving paid traffic.
That said, the most common ways are to advertise on Google or social media websites.
Using Google Adwords (Google’s paid advertising program) can be an extremely effective way to drive traffic to your landing page.
Have you ever wondered how Google became a 100 bazillion dollar company? It’s because of their advertising platform.
It’s an extremely complex system where you can tweak all kinds of variables, but in a nutshell Google allows advertisers to “bid” on search terms that they want to go after.
Using our previous example, let’s say that you are a lawyer who specializes in personal injury and you want to advertise on Google.
You could bid on the keyword, “hire a personal injury lawyer.”
Because there are a limited amount of clicks available to bid on and the profit margins are so high, the CPC (cost per click) for this keyword is going to be pretty high.
But if a lawyer’s closing ratio is one out of ten and clicks are $70 each, then as long as the LTV of his clients is more than $700, running paid ads will be profitable for him.
The main benefit of using Google ads is that you can bid on “buying keywords” which will serve users ads immediately when they’re searching for (and therefore thinking about) them.
Another popular method of paid traffic is using Facebook.
Facebook is not only the largest social media website in the world, but it acts as an immense collection of personal dossiers on all of its members.
Are you looking to target women aged 45-57 that live in Houston, listen to country music, and are fans of Martha Stewart?
You can do that with Facebook.
Put another way, Facebook will allow you to more specifically target the type of person you’re going after.
This increased level of targeting will allow you to go after your ideal customer – assuming that your ideal customer can be defined.
Facebook ads can appear in a number of places on their website, but generally the most effective placement for ads is in the News Feed.
You’ve probably seen them pop up on your own feed from time to time. Every 4 or 5 posts on your feed, you’ll see another post or video with the “Sponsored” tag just below the person’s name.
Those are all Facebook ads.
Similar to Google, there is a little bit of a learning curve when it comes to running Facebook ads.
In my experience, running Facebook ads is a little more intuitive than Google.
Google is a company full of very intelligent people. Sometimes very intelligent people design incredible tools, but these tools can be difficult to understand for non-geniuses who don’t work at Google.
The Facebook ads interface is more intuitive and simpler (despite the ability to target more specifically).
There are hundreds of ways to drive traffic with paid ads (Paigham Bot anyone?), but let’s start with those two for now.
How to grow your business with organic traffic?
If you don’t have any money for paid ads, then you’re probably going to have to start with the second form of traffic: organic.
The advantages of organic traffic:
- It’s free!
- It’s a better long term strategy
- It can be extremely powerful once you hit critical mass
The disadvantages of organic traffic
- It can take a long time to get up and running
- If you do things incorrectly, you’ll see minimal results
- It’s much more labor intensive than paid traffic
Organic traffic can take many forms, but the two most popular and effective methods will sound familiar to you: Google and social media.
If you had the time, resources, and knowledge of SEO (search engine optimization), then getting organic traffic through Google would be the way to go.
I’m sure you know that Google is the world’s most powerful search engine. They have sophisticated bots that “crawl” the internet, indexing every web page out there and assigning them a rank in terms of how authoritative they are on whatever topic they happen to be about.
That’s a simplified explanation of course, but the point is that when it comes to deciding whose website is the best, Google is the one who makes the call.
Why is this important?
Well, if your site ranks in position 1 on the first page of Google for a given keyword, then you’re going to get the lion’s share of the traffic for that keyword.
Certain search terms can have tens or even hundreds of thousands of hits per month. And if that’s your site at the top, then you can make a lot of money as a result.
How to use Google to grow your business
I highly recommend beginning the process of trying to rank on Google for your business’s keywords. Even if it takes you years to rank, the traffic is essentially free.
Over time, it’ll be worth it.
I realize that it’s hard be patient when you have the tempting option of getting instant gratification by running paid ads.
And I’m not saying you SHOULDN’T run paid ads as well if you have the budget.
But getting organic traffic from Google is a game changer. It’s what separates the men from the boys in whatever industry you’re in.
If you want to get organic traffic from Google, I’d recommend starting a blog.
Blogs are built to get traffic from Google for a few reasons:
- Google loves long form content
- You can tell Google what the page is about with title tags, header tags, and the content of the body
- The more links your content has, the higher Google will rank you
Not only that, but having a blog for your company will allow you to position yourself as a leader in your industry.
If you really know so much about your industry, then why not share that knowledge with the world?
It’s a great way to impress people with how much you know. And when people see that you know your stuff, they’re much more likely to do business with you.
Think about it: wouldn’t you choose to spend your money with a company that had a blog that explained EXACTLY what htey were going to do to help you or your business?
Of course you would. And your customers are no different.
There are a ton of guidelines for creating content that Google loves and I won’t go over them in this article. But one impotrant thing to remember is to include a link to your landing page on your blog.
You can do this at the bottom of the article.
You can also link to other great content, your social media pages, some affiliate offers, newsletter sign ups, and a host of other methods to help grow your business.
Another popular option is to run a newsletter service which you can entice people to sign up for with something called a lead magnet. More on this later.
How to get organic traffic with social media
The second popular method of getting organic traffic is to use social media.
Even though there are literally millions of websites out there, there are only about 10 or so that people visit regularly.
You get the idea.
The beauty of these websites is twofold:
- Millions if not billions of people use htem
- They’re free to join and use!
Each platform has its own advantages and disadvantages.
- Facebook is more community-based and has groups that cater to specific interests.
- YouTube is more engaging and allows you to undeniably showcase your expertise (as well as your personality).
- Pinterest is based on sharing and its users are 70% female.
- TikTok is used by a much younger crowd and its algorithm is very generous to new content creators.
Regardless of which platform(s) you choose to spend your time on, the principle is the same:
- Create useful and/or entertaining content
- Add a link back to your landing page (or blog)
- Repeat as necessary
The simplest explanation of how to get traffic with social media is this: you create a piece of content and share it with as many people as you can.
Hopefully your content will be useful enough that other people will share it.
And then THOSE people will share it, etc.
This is a concept that you’ve probably heard of: going viral.
You don’t need your content to go viral all over the internet though. Going viral in your industry is enough.
Even if it doesn’t go viral, it’s still worth the time and effort to spread your content if it gets you new customers, isn’t it?
How to use social media to drive traffic the WRONG way
One thing that I’ve seen business owners get wrong is that they don’t have a singular focus for their social media accounts.
If your business is selling prom dresses, then your Instagram account should be 100% about prom dresses and other prom related activities.
Deny the urge to diversify your content.
Each of these social media platforms works in the following way:
- Identify what type of content users are consuming
- Serve them additional content similar to what they’ve consumed
If you use your social media like most people, it’s a smattering of various things that have to do with your life.
Some recipes, some pictures with friends, some work stuff, some pictures of your family, etc.
If someone really loves your video that you made about your tuna casserole recipe, it’s likely that they’ll love other recipes.
But if they go to your social media account and find that it’s full of content on unrelated topics, then they’re less likely to stay engaged.
Remember to stay focused, stay targeted, and create content in the same niche – regardless of how uncreative the process feels.
Grow your business (and increase revenue) by creating a sales funnel
Most businesses make a MASSIVE mistake when it comes to driving traffic to their landing pages.
Whether it’s with paid or organic traffic, they spend all this time getting people to turn into leads.
But then what?
Here’s the punchline: after the customer turns into a lead, why not try to sell them something right away?
They’ve already given you their contact information. You’ve already won.
Once you have someone’s email address, you can build your relationship with them every day for the rest of their lives
What do you have to lose by trying to sell them something immediately?
Yet it never occurs to people to create sales funnels. They just get the lead and move on, leaving money on the table.
I think the reason for this is simple: it never even occurs to most people to create a funnel in the first place!
Not only that, but they also probably aren’t aware of the technology that makes creating funnels easy.
After all, creating a sales funnel isn’t just this one singular thing. It involves many smaller skills that each require time to learn and master.
In order to create a funnel, you need to:
- Learn how to be an effective copywriter
- Learn how to structure a funnel
- Learn how to add upsells and downsells
- Learn how to create explainer videos (with “copywriting” language)
- Learn how to create the sales funnels themselves
If you’re selling information products – a commonly sold asset with sales funnels – then the process becomes even more complicated.
But what if there was a piece of software that enabled you to do all these things easily, WITHOUT trying to reinvent the wheel and educate yourself on your own?
Well there is. But we’ll talk about ClickFunnels later.
How to make a funnel for ANY type of business
For example, let’s say you are a chiropractor and you want to set up a sales funnel.
It would look something like this:
Landing page > Sales page > Upsell > Downsell > Thank you page
(NOTE: Funnels have the potential to be MUCH more complex than this example, but most businesses will do well with one that follows this structure.)
We’ve already covered what a landing page is – it’s designed to capture leads.
Here, the chiropractor would probably want the user to at least leave their contact information, set an appointment, or both.
Once the user has submitted their details, the next page of the funnel would automatically load with an offer.
- The sales page (which contains the offer) is designed to try to make a sale. You’ve already gotten the lead – so why not try and make a sale on the spot?
In this case, let’s say the chiropractor created a 70 page report on how to improve your spinal health at home.
He could have created this on his own, paid a ghostwriter to create one, or rebranded something called PLR (Private Label Content).
Let’s say he decides to sell this product for $27 with a potential add-on of a wall-poster of 20 tips for improving posture for an additional $8.
Adding a sales page to your funnel is an AMAZING way to make money online – and it works for ANY business!
Once the customer decides if they want to buy, they’re taken to the next page of the funnel.
- The upsell page is for customers who have already made a purchase. It stands to reason that if the customer bought the product, they might also buy a much more expensive product as well.
Here, the chiropractor offers a promotion for 20 sessions of adjustments at a discount of $300. Normally this many adjustments would cost $1000, but if the customer signs up now, they can get the same thing for $700.
(Please note that I’m just making these numbers up and have no idea how much chiropractic adjustments cost.)
Again, once the customer makes a decision, they’re taken to the next page: the downsell.
- The downsell page contains an add-on that is priced lower than the upsell – or lower than the offer on the sales page, depending on how you structure the funnel.
On this page, the customer is offered the chance to buy 10 sessions for half price – $350 in this case.
Finally, the customer is taken to the Thank You page.
- The Thank You page gives the user access to their purchase(s), allows them to set an appointment, tells them what the next steps are, and most importantly thanks them for their time.
Is every single user going to click through all those pages? Of course not.
But by creating an additional couple steps for users to go through AFTER you’ve already gotten what you wanted (a lead), you’re increasing the chances that you’ll earn more revenue.
I just made this example up off the top of my head, but you get the idea.
Put as simply as possible, sales funnels are hands down the easiest way for businesses to increase their revenue.
How to create a sales funnel with the One Funnel Away Challenge
If you’re looking for a thorough training on how to create sales funnels, I highly recommend the One Funnel Away Challenge.
The One Funnel Away Challenge (OFA), is a 30 day live training program created by ClickFunnels that teaches you everything you need to know about setting up a profitable funnel in 30 days.
Be warned: there is a TREMENDOUS amount of stuff you need to learn to put this into practice.
I’ve done the OFA twice myself and plan to do it again in the future. Each time, I pushed myself to create funnels in the 30 day window given to us by the live training.
In the program, top ClickFunnels marketers do a deep dive into every aspect of funnel creation.
They cover things like:
- How to establish a WINNING mindset for creating a successful online business
- How to discover your unique value proposition (why customers buy from YOU, not someone else)
- How to define your ideal customer and craft the perfect marketing message for them
- How to drive targeted BUYER traffic to your funnel without paying for paid ads
- How to create your offer (with a method called Hook, Story, Offer)
- How to use scientific copywriting methods that CONVERT users to paying customers
It’s not all sunshine and rainbows though.
Look, I won’t lie to you: the dropout rate for the One Funnel Away Challenge is pretty high. It’s not for the faint of heart.
If you’re already making excuses in your mind about why you can’t do it or why it won’t work, then just skip to the next section right now.
But if you’re looking to master an extremely valuable skill and are prepared to devote the necessary time, then I honestly can’t think of a better way to spend your time.
When it comes to making more money online, ClickFunnels is definitely the way to go.
But don’t take my word for it. Sign up for a free 2 week trial and mess around with the interface yourself.
How to build passive income with ClickFunnels affiliate marketing
I don’t want this to turn into a ClickFunnels article, so I’ll keep this section short.
You can make a few hundred to a few thousand extra dollars per month by promoting ClickFunnels as an affiliate.
For those of you who don’t know what affiliate marketing is, it’s essentially selling another company’s products.
I’m not sure why they call it affiliate marketing instead of just “sales” – because that’s exactly what being a salesperson is.
The benefit of affiliate marketing though is that it can be automated and scaled. While this is technically true of direct sales as well, you’re limited by the amount of salespeople that you have.
The internet, on the other hand, doesn’t need to sleep or eat.
Once you start getting more leads with your landing pages, increasing your revenue with sales funnels, and master the art of copywriting – all essential elements of any sales funnel – you’ll understand the power of ClickFunnels.
A great way to learn how to earn money as a ClickFunnels affiliate is to attend their Affiliate Bootcamp.
The Affiilate Bootcamp is set up as a 100 day challenge to gather 100 ClickFunnels affiliates. They’re essentially giving you the tools you need to get one new ClickFunnels affiliate per day.
What is the ClickFunnels Dream Car Challenge?
Every person that signs up for ClickFunnels using your affiliate link nets you $40/month. The way the program is marketed is that you’ll be able to “retire” in 100 days.
Assuming you sign up 1 affiliate per day, that would mean an additional $4000 income per month. While you’ll having a hard time retiring on that in a first world country, it’s definitely a nice start!
Lead by Stephen Larsen (also coincidentally one of the main instructors for the One Funnel Away Challenge), in the ClickFunnels Affiliate Bootcamp you’ll learn everything you need to learn in order to become a top affiliate.
Of course you’ll still have to do the work. But at least you’ll have an actual working plan laid out for you.
One of the cool perks that ClickFunnels offers their affiliate is the Dream Car Challenge. You can read the rules here.
I’ll admit, this is a cheesy gimmick to get people to promote CF. Essentially what they say is that once you sign up 100 affiliates, they’ll pay you an additional $500/month for you to lease/buy your dream car.
Once you get to 200 affiliates, they’ll double that number to $1000/month.
Personally I would rather just pocket the $1000 or spend it on something else. But part of me would like to pull a Tai Lopez and talk about my new Lamborghini here in my garage.
The best part? The Affiliate Bootcamp is a 100% free training.
If creating sales funnels holds any interest for you, it’s worth checking out.
And besides, it’s free.
What do you have to lose?
How to increase revenue by following up with customers
It’s strange to me that I even need to write this section, but you’d be surprised how many business owners will go through ALL the steps necessary to generate leads and then WON’T follow up with their clients.
It’s like, you paid all this money and spent all this time generating traffic – don’t you want to make money?
Kind of an unrelated point, but this is why I believe that ex-salespeople make the best business owners.
In sales, you’re ALWAYS focused on making more money.
Any salesman worth his salt has the KILLER INSTINCT required to focus on bringing in as many new deals as he can.
Any salesman who is in it for the love of the game KNOWS that his job is to extract as much money from customers as possible.
(Ethically, of course.)
When I had a business in Australia, the knowledge that I paid $500 just for the PRIVILEGE of opening for business every day.
- I paid $150/day in rent to the mall
- I paid my salespeople 30% commission on what they sold
- I had to pay for the products I was selling
- I had to pay credit card fees
- I paid for electricity and internet
- I had to pay transportation costs
- I had to pay my own rent
- I had to pay for food
All of these miscellaneous costs added up to around $500 per day, meaning that if the kiosk closed UNDER $500, I would lose money.
I had to sell for $500 just to break even.
When I worked as a salesman and didn’t own my business, I would try to make $200/day just from my own commissions alone.
So not only did I have to sell for $500 just to break even, but now I needed to sell even MORE in order to make what I had been making as a mere salesman.
And believe me, you DO NOT want the extra headache that comes with being an entrepreneur unless you’re going to be making MUCH more money.
These days, I make most of my money online. I do still go and work in the mall or at trade shows sometimes, but I don’t rely on it for my main source of income anymore.
That said, I thankfully still have the same attitude of KILLER INSTINCT that I did when I was selling at kiosks.
The beauty of internet leads is that you get them instantly.
You KNOW that whenever a lead comes in, a customer was just on your site under the spell of your copywriting and marketing.
At that moment, they wanted whatever it is you were selling ENOUGH to give you their contact information.
The sooner you contact them, the better, because believe me – if they’re filling out YOUR contact form, they’re filling out other ones too.
Contacting internet leads is not the time to be playing it cool.
You’re a business owner. You’re a shark. You’re a killing machine in the jungle looking for your prey.
Ethically, of course.
You want to HELP your customers so badly, are so PASSIONATE about providing the services that you provide, that you can’t wait to contact them and help solve their problem.
How to increase your revenue with email marketing – IMPORTANT
We’re at the final step! Isn’t that exciting?
You’ve created a landing page, driven targeted traffic, put your customers through a sales funnel, even followed up with them over the phone and sold them a high ticket item.
You may think that your work is over.
But in reality, it’s only just beginning.
I’m starting to sound like a broken record here, but think about it: you went through ALLLLL the trouble of generating the lead and selling them something.
Why wouldn’t you try to sell them more?
If a customer likes you, likes your product, WANTS your product, and has the money to purchase it – don’t you think it’s logical that they’d also want to buy more products that you sell?
Of course they would!
Yet it boggles my mind to see that most business owners neglect email marketing.
They don’t want to “bother” their previous or prospective customers by emailing them too often.
Well I’ve got news for you: anyone who would be bothered by you sending them an email – yes, even daily emails – is not someone who will turn into your customer.
Sometimes we sign up for things that we want in the moment and then change our minds. We’ve all done it.
But that doesn’t mean that you should hamstring your business in order to appease those people.
You’re a business owner. There’s a reason you do all the extra work required to run and maintain a business.
Sure, we all love our freedom. And done properly, you’ll make more money as a business owner than ANY other profession out there.
But if you’re an entrepreneur, you have to LOVE what you do. That’s the only way you’ll put in the 16-17 hour days required to make your business flourish.
You’ve already taken the lead through the entire life cycle of the sales process! Why would you stop?
Put another way, once you get their email address, you need to send them an email every day for the rest of their lives.
It doesn’t have to be a salesy email. In fact, it’s probably better if you DIDN’T try to sell them something every time you emailed them.
Nobody likes to feel like they’re being taken advantage of.
But there are tons of things you could be sending them!
- A bit of industry news
- A new development in your company
- The announcement of a new product or service
- An upcoming sale you’re having
- The reduction in price of a popular product
- Your plans for the future of the company
- The introduction of a new team member
- A popular Facebook post from your Facebook page
The important thing is to stay in front of them all the time, so that when they decide that they want to make a purchase in your industry, they decide to buy from YOU.
Think about it: let’s say you walk by a furniture store every day on your way to work. And every day, the owner of the company waves and says hello to you.
Sometimes you have a quick chat. But mostly it’s just a polite greeting.
If he’s at the front of your mind every time you think about furniture, who do you think you’re going to give the business to when you finally need to buy a new couch?
Put briefly, when I was running my business in Australia, I started saying hello to every single person who walked by – regardless of whether or not we tried to stop them and sell them something.
Not only did my staff and I become famous in that mall, but we even became famous in the neighborhood.
Most importantly, we sold tens of thousands of dollars in additional products for no other reason than the people in the neighborhood liked us and felt like they knew us.
Many, many times they’d be walking by in groups, go out of their way to say hello to us, and DRAG their friends over to sit for a demonstration.
Not only that, but when it came time to close, they actually did the closing for us!
“You HAVE to buy this! It’s such a good deal!”
The right way to make money with email marketing
Like I mentioned earlier, email marketing doesn’t need to be full of hard selling sales pitches.
A light touch is plenty.
One of my favorite aspects of email marketing is the ability to create an email sequence.
Once you create an email sequence, you can use that email sequence over and over again for every new person that you add to your list.
Let’s say that over the course of a few months, you create an email sequence of 90 emails.
I know that sounds like a lot of work, but it really doesn’t have to be. The emails can range from just a few sentences to several pages.
If you’re providing good information and entertaining people in the process, then people will happily consume your content.
After all, YOU read this entire article. And we’re currently at almost 6,000 words!
But WHY did you read the entire thing?
Because for whatever reason, you felt like you were getting some kind of value out of it.
You read this far because you’re interested in the subject matter. You’re interested in generating more revenue for your business.
Sure, maybe some people read this because they like me and will consume any content I create. But statistically speaking, those people are in the minority.
(Shocking, I know!)
But the point is that your customers operate under the same principle.
Here’s the logic:
If you’ve read this far because you’re interested in the topic, then when you receive an email with additional information on the SAME topic, you’ll happily read that too – EVEN IF IT HAPPENS EVERY DAY!
And over a long enough timeline, it stands to reason that you might even become a customer of mine as well.
Your email list will work the same way.
But Stuart, I hear you thinking, creating a sequence with 90, 180, or 360 emails is a lot of work!
You’re not wrong. But the days are going to pass anyway.
And God willing, you will still have your business the entire time.
You can drop every single email address you get into that sequence. Regardless of when they are dropped in, they’ll go through the entire sequence.
Let’s say you have two identical businesses – one of them has a 360 email drip sequence and the other doesn’t.
- Which one do you think is going to have more money at the end of the year?
- Which one do you think will have more money after 5 years?
- What about 10 years?
- 20 years?
- Which one of those businesses do you think customers will feel more comfortable giving their money to?
- Which one do you think customers will be more fond of?
- Which one do you think will leave a more engaging legacy?
The beauty of this strategy is that it will multiply in effectiveness over time.
The additional revenue will eventually allow you to outsource this process, create segmented email sequences, and multiply your revenue even more.
It’s a shame that I’ve saved the most important section for last, but email marketing is THE MOST IMPORTANT PART of your online marketing strategy.
The emails that you collect over time from targeted traffic are people who are interested enough in what you’re selling to give you permission to contact them in the most intimate way possible.
(Well, maybe not the MOST intimate…)
Don’t drop the ball at the 1 yard line. Take it all the way into the end zone and cultivate your email marketing strategy with a powerful drip sequence.
Your bank account will thank you!
If you’ve actually read this entire article, I’m proud of you.
I know it’s not as colorful as some of my other posts, but I really wanted to make this one informative rather than entertaining.
I wanted to create a guide that I could spread across the internet that would help people understand what they need to do to take their online business to the next level.
I don’t care what kind of business you have – if you do everything I laid out in this guide, you’re going to generate WAY more revenue than you’re generating now.
Yes, these things require work. You may even have to learn some new skills.
Or maybe you don’t. I suppose you could just hire someone to do all the work for you.
But regardless of whether you decide to hire someone or do it on your own, the fact remains: these are things that have a very high ROI both in terms of time spent on them and also money invested.
And I guarantee you that the major players in your industry – AKA your competition – are doing them.
So let’s do a quick recap.
In order to increase your revenue as a small business, here’s what you need to do:
- Start a business
- Set up a landing page
- Drive traffic
- Capture emails
- Create a funnel
- Follow up with customers
- Send an email every day for the rest of their lives
Feel free to refer to this guide in the future and reread it as many times as you need to.
And if you have any questions, don’t hesitate to contact me through this site or shoot me an email directly at email@example.com